South Shore Bank

South Shore Bank shares a long history with the South Shore region of Massachusetts. Although the name South Shore Bank began in 1997 with the merger of Weymouth Savings Bank and South Weymouth Savings Bank, we were originally chartered by the General and Honorable Court of the Commonwealth in 1833 as the Weymouth and Braintree Institution for Savings. We have a proud heritage of commitment to the communities we serve.

We are a full service mutual savings bank with 16 locations in Massachusetts, located in eight communities throughout the South Shore. As a mutual savings bank, our duty is to serve our customers. We are locally managed and dedicated to the needs of the community rather than the demands of investors.

As a regional banking leader, it is our mission to meet the needs of our customers. We do this by offering a variety of both traditional and innovative financial products for your personal and business banking needs. We are consistently developing our technology products to ensure our customers are provided with the convenient services they’ve grown to expect.

Identification Required to Open a New Account
Description of your identification policy: 
We require 1 form of primary ID that is government issued. Current MA issued drivers license or valid passport (photo required).
IDs acceptable to open account: 
What other IDs are valid to open an account: 
U.S. Armed Forces ID.
Other forms of identification that are valid to open an account: 
Current Mass ID card (issued by RMV)
Savings Account Features
Ability to have an automatic transfer (auto-save) from other accounts: 
Free Out of Network ATM Usage: 
Other Bank Products and Services
Outgoing International wire transfers: 
Cost of wire transfer: 
Remittances to foreign countries available: 
Free On-Line Banking: 
Cost for money orders: 
Mobile banking available: 
Monthly statements : 
No additional cost
"Help" phone line hours: 
781-682-3715 Monday - Friday 7am - 7pm Saturday 7am - 2pm
Language assistance available (not necessarily in person): 
Spanish, Portuguese, Mandarin, Cantonese, Albanian